Your Mental Illness Doesn’t Define You

img_0713

There’s a quote everyone says that is “your mental illness doesn’t define you”, and I think this is only true as long as you believe it.

Having depression or anxiety shouldn’t tell me if I’m different or worthless. Being a teenager nowadays isn’t easy, I know. Technology and social media are very prominent, setting beauty standards that mess up your head, telling you you have to have big boobs, long skinny legs and a thigh gap to be beautiful. Then you end up crying in your room thinking WHY THE HELL ARE MY THIGHS SO BIG, when in reality they aren’t even touching. Darling your mind is playing tricks on you. You’re not insecure, you’re just aware. Your flaws and imperfections are just that, don’t let society tell you you need a nose job or lip fillers to be beautiful.

Everyone has their ups and downs. Hell, I have them too! Now I know what Kurt Cobain meant when he said “I miss the comfort of being sad”. I feel like it gets under your skin and lives inside you, you felt sad for so long, that when you don’t feel sad, you just don’t feel at all.

Surround yourself with people that are going to bring you up. I’m tired of people making me feel like I can’t do this. I know I can do this. My mental illness doesn’t define me. 

img_0713

☾Don’t forget to check out my personal blog tereromances.com, my social media @tereromances and my tumblr lost-bohemian.tumblr.com

2 comments

  1. So true. Last year I suffered really badly from my social anxiety and depression, and I really did let it define me. I almost gave me an excuse to not make the effort and just stay in a perpetual slumber. I know that you’re meant to be the one to pull yourself out of it, but for me, it was a guy who helped save me. From there, I built myself back up. It’s such a tricky topic to talk about, and it differs for everyone – but it really shouldn’t be used as a stamen or something to define you.

    Amy;

    Little Moon Elephant

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

